top of page

(Left) Honorary Member Bernie Lung'aho

(Middle) Founding Member Tony Drakes

(Right) Founding Member Joe MBeki

Our History


In April 1996, Eloy Toppin, Tony Drakes, Lawrence (Joe) MBeki and Harvey McGee formed the See-Saw Cycling Club named after Major Taylor's first racing team. The original See-Saw club was a black team formed in 1895 in response to the exclusively white Zig-Zag Cycling Club in Taylor's boyhood hometown, Indianapolis. After attending the Major Taylor Century ride sponsored by the Seven Hills Wheelmen bicycle club of Worcester in 1998, the group, which is not a racing club and is now integrated, came up with a new name "because we didn't want to step on history," Toppin said. "The feeling was that See-Saw should remain what it was."

The new name “Octagon Cycling Club” was chosen because there are 4 founders, 4 bikes and 8 wheels. Octagon Cycling Club has scheduled weekly rides during the riding season and other social and volunteer events throughout the year. Our membership includes cyclists of all levels, from beginners to experienced athletes.

Octagon is invested in our surrounding communities and actively participates in leadership and philanthropic activities.  Our members strive to act as role models and to encourage physical fitness and outdoor activity especially in minority communities.

bottom of page